Taupō Anglican Church has its roots deeply founded in its community, dating from the earliest planting of mission work among Ngāti Tuwharetoa in the 1830s.
A century of mission work followed among Māori all around Lake Taupō, at a time when Taupō itself had only a few hundred inhabitants and no easy road access.
It was the early 1930s that St Andrew’s - the first Anglican church with services conducted in English - would be built in the town. Appropriately, it was named after the patron saint of those who love fishing - Andrew from Lake Galilee. The first St Andrew’s church was the tiny, picturesque 35-seater wooden chapel in upper Titiraupenga St which today survives as the sanctuary and chancel of the present much larger complex. Then, the congregation was served by clergy who were part of the Rotorua Māori Mission. The first vicar, the Reverend Harry Hauwaho Tangohau, was appointed to the Parochial District of Taupō in 1958.
The infant congregation grew, and took its place as a high-profile organisation as Taupō itself blossomed. In the 1960s, the original church proved far too small for its regular users, and a new auditorium (or “nave”) was added, seating another 100 people.
Taupō and the congregations continued to steadily grow, until at the end of the 1990s, a complete redevelopment resulted in the present graceful 200-seater auditorium and a frequently-used set of meeting rooms and offices. The older parts of the church were preserved and melded into the new St Andrew’s Church Centre.